Your car insurance policy won't be immediately canceled because you don't make a payment. Auto insurance companies are required by state law to give notice before canceling their policy. Depending on the state, you'll normally have 10 to 20 days. Your company will notify you by mail or email before canceling your coverage.
Insurers can cancel policies or choose not to renew them at the end of the policy term. Non-renewal can occur after several accidents or after filing too many claims. At the same time, more immediate cancellations can be due to serious problems, such as loss of driving privileges or insurance fraud. Fortunately, many insurers are still accepting customers who have had their policy canceled or not renewed, but who are prepared to pay a higher rate.
The website of the Department of Motor Vehicles in your new state will contain all the legal requirements for insurance and vehicle registration. Depending on the state, you could have 30 to 90 days to change your insurance, driver's license and registration. You could face a fine for not making the change by the deadline. Progressive offers insurance after a DUI if that person has a valid license and can drive legally.
The most common reasons why auto insurance isn't renewed vary by state and insurer and include multiple accidents and too many insurance claims. During your progressive quote, you won't be able to select car insurance coverages that don't apply to you. In addition, if your policy includes car rental reimbursement and your car is damaged in a covered accident, Progressive will pay the rent (up to a specified limit and term) while your own car is repaired. Auto insurance companies often offer a grace period for late car insurance payments, so a payment that's late by a few days shouldn't be a problem.
However, the vehicle must be regularly parked at your residence overnight for Progressive to insure it in your policy. If you lend your car to someone and that person causes an accident, Progressive may cover some of the damages they are responsible for. In that case, you would need two car insurance policies, one for the vehicle that is kept overnight in Connecticut and a policy from another state in New York for the vehicle you keep at work. In addition, having a lapse in auto insurance coverage between policies can mean more difficulty getting a new policy and higher rates when you do.
Every state requires auto insurance companies to declare how they calculate rates to customers, and insurers cannot deviate from these presented rates.